Stephen King to the Rescue!

img_2858In honour of Stephen King’s birthday, I sat down to read my favourite book of his, The Stand. I didn’t get very far into it before I changed my mind and switched to his book On Writing. I struggled with my writing (or editing) today and thought that this might be a good way to snap me out of it (drawing and a walk didn’t help – refer to my previous post for that to make any sense).

It did. Or somewhat did.

I’m not actually going to work on my book anymore today, but I do have a new sense of excitement about it. No, I don’t actually think that the editing process is going to be enjoyable. It’s simply that, after reading Stephen King’s work (I can’t call him only King for some reason), I’m reminded that I’m supposed to write for myself more so than anyone else. More than that, reading his words, which are so typically his, I know I need to find my way back to my own style of writing, which I think has wavered a bit over the past little while (either because I’ve worked on it too long or am trying too many things, I don’t know).

It has also made me think of this blog. In the beginning of his book, he talks about growing up and his first encounters with writing and the science fiction and horror genres. It made me realize that I wasn’t writing very much of my own life here. For the most part, I was sticking to my writing and the process I’m going through to get a book published (admittedly self-published, but that takes time too). I don’t want to do that anymore.

I want to think about this blog as someone I’m meeting for the first time (which, technically, I might be). I want to look at it as a place to introduce myself, a place for the reader to get to know me. And that means much more than talking about my writing.

I have no idea if anyone will want to hear about anything I have to say about my life, but I feel as though that’s the direction I need this blog to go (while still keeping updates on my writing, that is). I just want to reach out and see what happens.

I’ll admit, though, that I am hoping for feedback. Sometimes blogging feels like I’m telling my story to the person beside me at a crowded bar. You know, the one whose back is to me as he chats up the person beside him. But, again, I just have to see what happens.

4 thoughts on “Stephen King to the Rescue!

  1. Joanna September 21, 2016 / 9:16 pm

    I need to reread On Writing, definitely inspiration when you need it. I think adding in your own personal touch is a great idea. I like getting to know people behind the book.

    • Michael McManamon September 21, 2016 / 10:52 pm

      Definitely reread it. It’s fantastic. His writing process is one that speaks to me. And thanks for the support for adding my own personal touch. I’m kind of looking forward to it. 😊

  2. Jeff Coleman November 25, 2016 / 11:33 pm

    I read “On Writing” once in high school, and am working through it again. It’s an inspirational book. I don’t agree with everything he says, but then everyone is a little different, so that’s okay. He was one of my biggest heroes when I was just getting interested in writing stories of my own.

    • Michael McManamon November 26, 2016 / 8:31 am

      You’re right, I don’t agree with everything he says, either. Actually, I’m pretty sure he probably doesn’t even agree with everything he said! Haha. But it is inspirational. The best part was finding someone else who wrote with a similar process to my own.

Leave a comment